University of Maryland Extension

Our Vision: University of Maryland will be the preeminent Extension organization in the nation by providing the residents of Maryland with the highest quality of public service, distinguished educational programming, and cutting-edge research that addresses their needs.

Our Mission:  Enhancing the quality of life for people and communities by disseminating unbiased research-based educational information.

Who we are... Extension is a national partnership between the U.S. Department of Agriculture, state land-grant universities, and county government. In Maryland, Extension comprises the off-campus educational arm of the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources of the University of Maryland, College Park. As faculty members of the university, county Extension agents and educators teach citizens research-based information concerning agriculture and natural resources, family and consumer sciences and 4-H youth development in their communities.

Location - Charles County is on the Southern Maryland peninsula. It is bordered by Prince George's County to the north, St. Mary's County to the south, Calvert County to the east and the Potomac River to the west. It is 30 miles south of Washington, 61 miles southwest of Baltimore and 96 miles north of Richmond.

From MD Interstate 95...take exit 7 Branch Avenue South towards Waldorf; Branch Avenue will turn into Crain Highway (Route 301 South); Follow Crain Highway into Charles County. Once across County Line go approximate 17 miles.  We will be on the right in the Historic Bel Alton High School, near mile-marker 10. 

Staff Directory

Karol Dyson – Senior Agent & Capitol Area Extension Director, kdyson@umd.edu

 

4-H YOUTH DEVELOPMENT                                                                  

Amy Lang - 4-H Educator, amlang@umd.edu

Bonnie Boyden - Program Management Specialist, bboyden@umd.edu

Darby D'Ambrosio - EFNEP / Ext. Program Assistant, darbyd@umd.edu

Jeanne Williams - Ext. Program Assistant, jeanneh@umd.edu

                                                                                                          

FAMILY & CONSUMER SCIENCES (FCS)                                                

Patricia Maynard - Senior Agent Associate, Finance for Charles & Prince Georges Counties, pmaynard@umd.edu

                                                                                                          

FOOD SUPPLEMENT NUTRITION EDUCATION (FSNE)                            

Jessica Conjour - Agent Associate, Nutrition Educator, jconjour@umd.edu

 

AGRICULTURE                                                

Alan Leslie - Agriculture and Food Systems Educator, aleslie@umd.edu

 

MASTER GARDENER COORDINATOR                                                     

Luke Gustafson - Senior Agent Associate, lng@umd.edu

                                                                                                          

NUTRIENT MANAGEMENT                                                                    

Francis Warring - Coordinator, Nutrient Management Advisor, fwarring@umd.edu

 

WATERSHED RESTORATION                                                                 

Jackie Takacs - Senior Agent, Watershed Restoration Specialist, takacs@mdsg.umd.edu 240-393-6508

 

ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT                                                             

Donna Mohler, dmohler@umd.edu



Section: 
Maintained by the IET Department of the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources. © 2019. Web Accessibility