Health Insurance Literacy Team Receives National Award

The USDA, National Institute for Food and Agriculture’s Jeanne M. Priester Award was presented to the Maryland and Delaware Extension team. The presentation was made during the April, 2016 National Health Outreach Conference.

The award recognized the Smart Choice Health Insurance™ program for outstanding contributions to the Cooperative Extension System and the public in the area of individual and family programing for health and wellness.

Shown here from left to right:

  • Michelle Rodgers, Director, University of Delaware Cooperative Extension
  • Maria Pippidis, Extension Educator, University of Delaware Cooperative Extension
  • Lynn Little and Bonnie Braun, Co-Leaders, University of Maryland Extension
  • Mia Russell, Extension Educator, University of Maryland Extension
  • Virginia Brown, Extension Educator, University of Maryland Extension
  • Patsy Ezell, Assistant Director for Family Consumer Sciences, University of Maryland Extension
  • Teresa McCoy, Assistant Director for Assessment and Evaluation, University of Maryland Extension                                                                              




Smart Choice Health Insurance Continues to Have Impact!

For the second year, results from consumer workshops conducted by Cooperative Extension educators in 7 states show that participating consumers leave with increased confidence and ability to make smart health insurance purchase decisions. The workshops make a difference as confused consumers struggle to understand health insurance terms and to choose among available health insurance plans.

To learn more about the results, click here for the report.

Insuring Your Health
The University of Maryland Extension programs are open to all and will not discriminate against anyone because of race, age, sex, color, sexual orientation, physical or mental disability, religion, ancestry, or national origin, marital status, genetic information, or political affiliation, or gender identity and expression.
IET Departmentof the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources. © 2016.