May 23, 2024

CHICAGO – May 7, 2024 – Catherine (Chengchu) Liu, PhD, tenured Seafood Technology Specialist/Extension Professor at University of Maryland Sea Grant Extension Program has been named a 2024 Class of IFT Fellow by the Institute of Food Technologists (IFT), a nonprofit scientific organization committed to advancing the science of food and its application across the global food system with members spanning academia, government, and industry. Being elected as an IFT Fellow is widely considered among the highest honors awarded in the science of food community.

IFT also named this year's Achievement Award Winners, along with the additional IFT Fellows. “To be considered as an IFT Fellow or a winner of an IFT Achievement Award, nominees must demonstrate a history of notable contributions in the food and beverage sector – from professional leadership and volunteer service to helping promote and advance the science of food and its application. IFT is thrilled to be honoring these exemplary individuals and celebrate their commitment to improving the global food system through science and innovation,” said IFT CEO Christie Tarantino-Dean.

Learn more about the 2024 Achievement Award winners and the 2024 IFT Fellows.

This year’s IFT Fellows and Achievement Award winners will be celebrated at IFT FIRST: Annual Event and Expo, which is being held July 14-17, 2024, at McCormick Place in Chicago. The Fellows Recognition Forum will be from 2:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. CDT on Sunday, July 14. The Awards Ceremony and Reception will be from 4:30 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. CDT on Sunday, July 14 at the IFT FIRST Theater. IFT FIRST (Food Improved by Research, Science, and Technology) includes the largest global food science and innovation expo and more than 100 scientific sessions and multi-disciplinary discussions focused on groundbreaking scientific research and solutions in novel technology and innovation, health and nutrition, sustainability and climate, food safety, and consumer insights and education.

To learn more about IFT FIRST, go to

Full list of Fellows and Award Winners